Lets Go Back to the Beginning…

When I started my blog I never had any idea that it would receive so many visitors and cause so much (polarised) opinion. After receiving so much feedback I though I ought to try and make my blog a bit more glamorous so I downloaded an e course on how to blog. The first lesson was to always make your first post an INTRODUCTION, and let your readers know what your blog is actually about. Well I flunked that lesson royally so I am now going to rewind and try to summarise the intentions I had when setting up this blog.

When it comes to archives I am a BEGINNER. I graduated in 2009, had a baby and started to volunteer in my local archives. That was a year ago now and after my year volunteering with the lovely Brent Archives I decided that I wanted to turn archiving into a career. I did NOT start this blog to whine about the job market (everybody I know is having a really rough time because we are YOUNG). I started it to chat and learn about archives from people interested in the profession, to create a literary timeline documenting my career path and my career struggles, and to provide a place in which to be creative and to have some FUN.

One person said that I was approaching the profession like it was an audition for the XFactor. Simon Cowell is the most influential man in the music industry, he makes and breaks carears all the time and as much as I hate him (Rage Against the Machine’s Christmas #1 was a great day for me) you cannot deny that he has totally changed the way people break into music. So if this is my XFactor moment I really, really hope it pays off – but I promise NO SOB STORIES!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helpful archivist
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 14:40:30

    A good new beginning! But please remember that not all new archivists are young 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sammy Elliot
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 16:44:42

    I am very surprised you have found a mass audience this quickly. Considering at first I thought this was just a comical blog. Please remember what you write is what determines a lot of the comments. Its no good telling people what to think about you or your blog posts. They do that for themselves. Further more I really did get the impression you were just moaning about the job market and not being able to get that dream job.

    Seriously please start to think about what you are writing. Avoid talking about career prospects, they make you look silly. I am not interested in your life and what you have done. However I was very interested in the disscussions about social networking and current projects you have under taken at the national archives. Keep this blog about Archives, you have good ideas, unfortunately you do write quite terrible articles.

    Yet I read them.

    Reply

    • holly1986fairhall
      Oct 06, 2010 @ 17:06:13

      It is MY blog and therefore I think I am entitled to write what I like. If you want to read a blog that is purely about archives then start writing one – I would be one of the first to subscribe. How can I possibly moan about the job market – the National Theatre archive assistant position was the first job I have applied for since graduating. Seriously I am not that jaded yet!

      Sorry that you think my articles are terrible (but please do keep reading them) 🙂

      Reply

      • Jacques Derrida
        Oct 09, 2010 @ 20:48:30

        Holly is right.

        What she does well is to offer her own personal take on the archives profession which, given the general air of self-congratulation that passes for intelligent analysis in the archive world these days, offers something new which is much more enjoyable and readable than the ARC Magazine.

        Keep it up Holly!

  3. Siobhan King
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 17:40:03

    You’ll get there champ. I must say you’ve shown an enormous strength of character in the face of sometimes less than tactful criticism.

    I had my doubts at first, but this blog is slowly winning me over for two reasons. Firstly, I’m not going to coddle you by saying your posts are brilliant. Keep working at it, keep writing, keep reading and you will get better. This post is already a positive step in the right direction. The comments you attracted, overlooking teh occasional ugliness, are high in quality. It’s like you’ve given people a forum to say things they might not feel like saying on a professional listserv.

    This blog is already chock full of good advice for anyone applying for a job. I’m a bit of an old hand, but new to the UK job market and nervous about looking for work in a new country. I am assiduously taking notes. Thanks to everyone who posted here.

    Secondly, on a more personal and abstruse note … We all suck at something when we start. Me personally, I am a terrible photographer! I’m just starting, I only have a point and shoot camera from Tesco. I’m learning a new skill and it’s intolerable to be this bad at something. But to get better I have to keep at it. On Flickr I found some people who are far more kind the odd one or two people who commented here. They have put up with my puppyish attempts to fit in with grace and generosity and even said nice things about the odd photo of mine that is actually in focus. All of this done in a social media setting, where there isn’t necessarily a code of professional conduct. I’m really thankful to them for being so patient with my bumblings. Your missteps with your blog remind me very much of my photographic efforts. Kia kaha Holly.

    Reply

  4. Siobhan King
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 18:37:52

    It’s Māori, it means “stay strong”. It’s vote of support and encouragement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

